Family is Forever S1409 CTMH Australiasian Stamp of the Month Blog Hop

sotm blog hop

Hello and welcome aboard our Stamp of the month Australasian Close to My Heart Blog Hop. If you have arrived here from  Monika English – a Sprinkle of Glitter you are in the right place. If you landed here by accident, no problem, please join in by following the link at the end of this post.


Family Is Forever

Before I start let me say I LOVE this stamp set! The big title, the big tree, the hearts and the smaller title are all very useful and can go on many projects. Family truly is forever. I would like to share with you this (your creation) which features September Stamp of the Month Family is Forever S1409  available exclusively throughout September for $27 or for just $5 when you spend $75.

I have been a wee bit busy but just for once decided not to reinvent the wheel. Instead I have created the page we see in our Annual Inspirations book on page 13. I just love this layout and could see a few techniques in it to try. First there is the look of weather board and second there is the stitching.

20140828_190121

I have altered the colours according to the product I had available. My base page is the first B and T paper from Yuletide Carol paper. It has a lovely cream damask look. My next piece was Colonial White cut at 10.5 inches square. The coordinating colours I chose were Sweet Leaf and Sunset. (Sorbet would do just as well.)

Weatherboard paper technique

To do the weather board piece I began with a piece of 6 x 8 inch Colonial White card stock and applied Sunset ink to it using my sponge across from left to right. ( It turned out not to be big enough so I would do 8 x 8 next time. ) I did this in one go then went back in two, three and a fourth time deepening the layers of colour nearer the bottom.

20140828_171637

 

After this I scored it at 3/4 inch and 1 inch. I suspect it may even be scored at 0.5 inches, .75 inches, 1 inch – repeat the pattern, but my two score lines got me a result I was happy with. I then folded and pressed the edges, finishing the look by sanding it all.

20140828_173315

I stamped the tree in Slate ink and did it again in Sorbet to get the heart on the tree another colour. I cut this out and mounted it with foam tape. I also used foam tape for the hearts which were stamped in Sorbet and Sweet leaf and fussy cut. I have done my title differently to the sample including the whole thing lower down on the page. Because I was time poor my stitching was achieved by using the ruler, paper piercing tool and mat and the  Marvy Uchida journalling pen to draw the stitching on. I finished it off with the gold gems, gold shimmer trim, some hearts from the Chalk it up assortment and Arrow washi tape. I am very pleased with my interpretation of this artwork in the Annual Inspirations book. The recipe for the original can be found under the link for the online version of Annual Inspirations Idea Book  by clicking ‘recipes’  or ask your consultant for some assistance to get these supplies.

Product Used

Stamp of the Month Family is Forever S1409 is only available until 30th September from your CTMH consultant. or by visiting Jen’s Creative Classroom.  I’d love you to leave a comment before heading off to the next stop,  Wendy Hopper -Wendy’s Expression of the Heart

Thanks for Stopping by

jenny sig

7 thoughts on “Family is Forever S1409 CTMH Australiasian Stamp of the Month Blog Hop

  1. thanks for sharing the weatherboard technique. I definitely want to give that a go! I had interpreted that as something entirely different in my recreation of the layout. I definitely need new glasses. BAHAHA

    Like

Comments are closed.