Everything ABC’s Blog Hop Letter Q

abc bloghop

Welcome to the Everything ABC’s Blog Hop! For this hop we will be featuring the letter Q. This may be the name of a paper, a stamp set or an embellishment. Whatever the crafter has chosen as their # element will be featured in their post.

If you have just hopped onto my blog, please start at the beginning at Linda’s blog ~ Scrappy Therapy

If you came from Catherine Nowak ~ Catscrapbooking you are on the right track!


Q is for Quilts!

Q is for Quilt pages

I have finally settled into my new home and am able to quilt again, While unpacking I came across these prints that had never found their way into an album – now they will. I decided to use Quilt for my Q and give you two simple 9 square quilt blocks to inspire you with just 4 pieces of cardstock. I have used one sheet of paper fundamentals. on coordinating colour cardstock and two pieces of White for the base of the pages. In this case I chose the Juniper design from the Whimsy Paper Fundamentals Assortment Z2033 and Juniper cardstock,. I have also  have used Juniper ink on the project.

My Classroom

My classroom students have completed this project in blue, purple and more. The results are stunning because of the textured side of this cardstock and the print pattern on the reverse. You can ‘quilt’ your page in a number of ways.

First of all you will need at least 18 3 inch squares – 9 from your Printed Fundamentals and 9 from your plain. From leftover Fundamentals cut 8 1/4 inch strips to border your pages.

Use your embossing folder to add interest and texture to your plain card stock. I have used Quatrefoil Z1926 on this design which happened to be the same as was on the printed one.

Left hand side

Left Side

I cut two of the squares in half making 4 half triangle blocks. You might also want to distress edges etc before you stick them down, Adhere to the page – On the left at 1 inch in and allow about 1/4 inch gaps. On the right 1/2 inches in and no gaps.

Right Side

Right Side

Once YOU are pleased with the arrangement adhere your blocks. It is now time to ‘Quilt”

Fast way 1 – Stamp it. Use Stitch Wonder Stamp set

 

Stitch wonder stamp set C1564

Fast way 2 – Almost as fast and a bit more fun –

Use the Stitch Guide Ruler Z1852 and the piercing tool. Mark out the holes. Join the dots with your Fine liner. On the glossy side of the fundamentals you can rub some of this away with a baby wipe leaving the result more subtle. For permanent stamping on this side of the paper use Stazon Ink.

Stitch Guide and ruler Z1852

Fast way two

Fast way two

The therapeutic Way – Stitch it!

Use the stitch guide, dig out your embroidery floss and do the actual stitching following the holes you have made using the stitch guide. You can cross stitch, straight stitch and stitch shapes onto your work.

quilt pages_0003

I have used all three on the page on the left. On the right instead of stitching I decided to add lace. I first rubbed the lace with Juniper ink using the dauber, then adhered it to the page with Modge Podge. Liquid Glass

quilt pages_0004

Embellish! Once your photos are on grab your Liquid Glass Z769 and embellish with whatever you have in your stash. I have used lace, buttons, zigzag(that was Grandma’s!) and brads. My Heart button is a cheap wood piece I found in my stash. I inked it and then covered it in liquid glass. Allow plenty of drying time – 24 hours – if you do one of these on paper or wood!

My class enjoyed this project, I hope you do too! Please leave a comment below 🙂

Supplies used are available from Jen’s Creative Clasroom. Shop online. Join the Monthly Virtual Gathering to go in the draw for host rewards.


 

 

Your next stop on our Everything ABC’S blog Hop is Stephanie

In case you get lost along the way…go to Scrappy Therapy

5 thoughts on “Everything ABC’s Blog Hop Letter Q

Comments are closed.