CTMH Stamps of the Month Australasian Blog Hop

Hello and welcome aboard the  Australasian Close to My Heart Stamp of the Month Blog Hop. If you have arrived here from  Lauren’s blog then you are in the right place. If you landed here by accident, no problem, please join in by following the link at the end of this post.

Today I would like to share with you this double page layout in my My Crush Bluebird book which features  Illuminate Stamp of the Month.  I am loving this stamp and I hope my contribution will inspire you!

I decided to work with the light imagery of this stamp and took a dive into my Bluebird My Crush Book. I love My Crushbooks as they are very versatile journals. They are a quick and easy to complete legacy to leave for the family if they dare to read one day. They are also a trendy way for tweens to scrapbook.

Illuminate is the starting point for all of the ideas on this double page in Bluebird My Crush book.

Illuminate is the starting point for all of the ideas on this double page in Bluebird My Crush book.

As light imagery and spirituality are my theme for the page I googled quotes and sayings about the same. (Gotta love how a google search can provide inspiration based on two keywords.) I looked in images for the ones I used here.

I then picked a double page in my Bluebird My Crush book with no other motiff on it. My SOTM ‘Illuminate’ is to provide this. Then I went taking photos. (Go On…you do do it too don’t you?) I decided on my Buddha and my mirrored melt pot because they reflected the sayings I collected. Time to get crafty!

How to get a nice circle with that little candle stamp.

How to get a nice circle with that little candle stamp.

First I had to work out my Buddha saying. I grabbed a scrap of cardstock, punched a 1 1/2 inch circle and lightly adhered this to the center of the cardstock I am using. I then took that dainty tiny candle stamp and stamped at 12, 3, 6 and 9 o’clock around the circle Then I stamped between these and was able to fit two more in between. While doing this be sure to turn your work so your candle lies in line with the center of the circle (or imagine it lining up with clock hands) . I removed the circle, cut a tiny candle (A rectangle with a concave end!) and stuck it into the center. I used Juniper markers to shade the sides and white chalk marker to suggest dripping wax. With a fine black marker I drew the flame. Using Honey alcohol marker I added a glow to the little candles and a flame in the center one. I then penned the verse in as neatly and as evenly as I could. It isn’t perfect, but it doesn’t need to be – it is handcrafted!

Candles in the round, inspired by an image with the saying.

Candles in the round, inspired by an image with the saying.

I dug through my Bluebird memories assortment and came up with the card that inspired one of the sayings I found. I decided to emulate, just a little, the popularity of typography right now and used the letter stickers in the pack for key words. I have also added one of the cute envelopes, again with a saying.

The perfect prompt and lettering in the assortment

The perfect prompt and lettering in the assortment

Most of the rest is all done using the illuminate stamp set – the lovely lamp base, hanging lanterns, titles and sentiments all stamped in black using Illuminate. For the lantern on the big lamp I first stamped the page, then a piece of cardstock. By fussy cutting this and popping it over the base stamp I got some nice dimension as well as colour onto the page.

The lantern is stamped twice - the second on colour and mounted over the first

The lantern is stamped twice – the second on colour and mounted over the first

I have used the following products in this design.

Exclusive Inks Black Z2105

My Crush Bluebird book Z1856

My Crush Memories Assortment Z1888

Exclusive Colour Palette Cardstock Twilight X5666, Goldrush 1243 Champagne X5931

Exclusive Inks Alcohol Markers Honey Z2415 Juniper Z2403

White Chalk Marker Z1767

Cricut Art Philosophy Seasons Stamp set – Art Philosophy collection Z1686

SOTM Illuminate S1311A

Illuminate Stamp of the month (SOTM) You can purchase this stampset for just $5 with every $75 purchase. Head to jenscreativeclassroom.ctmh.com.au now and place your order!

Illuminate Stamp of the month (SOTM) You can purchase this stampset for just $5 with every $75 purchase. Head to jenscreativeclassroom.ctmh.com.au now and place your order!

I do believe I will be adding another little saying to this page

The light of Sacred Wisdom shines in us all

This exclusive  stamp of the month is only available during November. It can be yours for just $5 with a qualifying order of $75 or for $24.00 if ordered separately from your CTMH consultant. If you do not have a consultant please contact me or place an order in my online store Jen’s Creative Classroom.

I’d love you to leave a comment before heading bacl to where it all begins at Mandy’s Hall of Indulgence.Thank you for stopping by.

Jen

6 thoughts on “CTMH Stamps of the Month Australasian Blog Hop

  1. Pingback: CTMH November Stamp of the Month Australasian Blog Hop – Illuminate | Hall of Indulgence

  2. Pingback: Hip pics albums make an awesome gift! | Jen's Creative Classroom

Comments are closed.