SOTM Blog Hop – A Happy Hello by Independent Consultants

FebSOTMBlogBadge

A Happy Hello!

Hello and welcome to this awesome international celebration of the February Stamp Of the Month a Happy Hello! I am very excited to be one of the contributors and hope I inspire you. Stamp of the Month is only available in February for $27 AU or $5 with your $75 AU order. If you arrived here from  Nikka Geers Blog you are in the right place.

This layout began with just one scrap – that 4 inch piece on the left side page. It was so pretty, I could not throw it out. Now I had a use for it!

sotmhappyhellopage

 

I attempted to replicate it on the right hand side but know that is nigh on impossible when doing ‘messy stuff’. (and I LOVE my messy stuff!) It goes a but like this – drop some Canary, Pixie and Sweet leaf drops of reinker on the all purpose craft mat. Add some salt. Spray with water. Place the paper down and press and twist, rub. Don’t forget the corners. Dry. Add more blotches – sparay some, flick some, sponge some. The trick is to know when enough is enough and not get the paper too wet.

Once I had a piece of paper I could use for the right side I rotated it a few times and aha there it was. I added some more messy stuff such as the rings from the stamp A1170 Doodled Designs in various colours on both pieces to help tie them together as well as the double stitched cirle. I trimmed 4 inches from the page on the right to create the symmetry across the centre of the layout. The Butterfly from Brush WOTG was already on that inspiring scrap of inky mess!. A happy accident:)

I set these pieces on Sweet leaf background and went to work with A Happy Hello to make flowers.

flower detail

I found enough scrap to create the Yellow Scallops with Buttercup Ink using the giant half circle stamp. I used the pretty petalled cicle and buttercup card stock for the base of my three flowers and stamped the solid circle with the really fine lines on it on the pink B and T paper. This took away the white from the background. I then daubed the edge in more pink to give it more dimension. I fussy cut these and used foam tape to mount the centres. I stamped the leaves and stems in Pear ink, attached the flowers and used what I had left of my Brushed Compliments to finish off the flowers and add the Banner flags. I did put some of these stickers on white cardstock and fussy cut them because of their transparency.

I wasn’t quite done yet, I did want to mess it up a little more. I pulled out a spray pen that has some left over pearlised sweet leaf spray and went to town with it on the sweet leaf background and let it run down the page. I little more painterly I think! We do not carry the pearl paint anymore ( sad face)  but so little of it is used in a spray bottle you may have some left in your stash. Don’t be afraid to use it! To support photos you might add to the page I would use the same B and T paper to mount them as shown in the example.

pearl detail

I hope you are inspired to get a little messy with this stamp set – it is great for both random stamping and flower making! For a full list of supplies see the shopping list below. Please leave a comment before you move along to the next stop in the hop  Pam Jarrett and see what she has in store for you.
Thanks for stopping by!
Jen
jenny sig
CTMH Products used in this project can be ordered online or in person from The Creative Heart. Let me know if you need some help with your order!
6 thoughts on “SOTM Blog Hop – A Happy Hello by Independent Consultants

Comments are closed.