Everything ABC’s Blog hop – S is for SIMPLE!

Welcome to the Everything ABC’s Blog Hop!

abc bloghop

For this hop we will be featuring the letter S. This may be the name of a paper, a stamp set or an embellishment. Whatever the crafter has chosen as their # element will be featured in their post. If you have just hopped onto my blog, please start at the beginning at Linda’s blog ~ Scrappy Therapy 

If you came from  Lauren Moore – CTMH Craftings youu are in the right place. 


S is for Super Simple!

I recently have been watching from a distance on FB the success of my nephews in their sporting activities this year and that got me thinking about how we might scrapbook the stories of a teenage boy and his almost double figure younger brother and their awesome season. This is what I came up with. I will be giving one of these nephews this page layout when he visits in the school holidays.

Completed super simple and very fast page.

Super simple PML page layout in the traditional way. Picture My Life cards are truly very versatile! Close To My Heart have a lovely range for us to choose from too!

The page is built on our awesome Picture My Life Scrapbooking Program. The design used here is Later Sk8terZ1945.  While we do not have the paper pack of this design we do have these cards and the card stock to match! PML cards are the source of titles, embelishments, photo mounts and journalling boxes all rolled into one! You can use them to pocket scrap, make cards and do more traditional layouts like this one. The price of them makes them very cost effective for a themed album too.

Each card is double sided. There are 22 of each 6 x 4 design (44 cards)  and 3 of each 2 x 4 design cards (78 cards) giving you a total of 122 cards to play with. Each set comes with a title page and a variety of pocket pages for your album. You can mix pocket pages and normal pages up in your album using layouts like this one..

Sand the base cardstock to match the texture of the cards. The extra white little bits come from paper crumbs (corner rounder bits) under the cardstock - a happy accident!

Sand the base cardstock to match the texture of the cards. The extra white little bits come from paper crumbs (corner rounder bits) under the cardstock – a happy accident!

I decided to use the same colours that are in the set – Outdoor Denim and Pear. To get ‘the look’ of the cards I have scrubbed the card stock with the sanding tool in our sanding kit. I did smudge the pear strips with a little outdoor denim ink using a sponge, but this is the only ink on this layout!

Fussy cut embellishments from a card or use them whole. Here I have taken a big card, cut the banner embellishment away and turned the remainder into a title card.

Fussy cut embellishments from a card or use them whole. Here I have taken a big card, cut the banner embellishment away and turned the remainder into a title card.

I have fussy cut 2 of the cards for embellishments, chosen a journalling card and a title. the rest are pure decoration. The suggested photo sizes for the layout especially on the right could really change according to what you have on hand.

And there is more!!! While I was at it I used these cards to creae a birthday card and some congratulations cards for both my nephews since they had had such an awesome season.

Later Sk8ter PML cards

Front of the congratulations card!

Front of the congratulations card!

Many consultants are offering PML Buffet classes for page layouts like this and I am one of them. If you would like to host a Picture My Life Buffet workshop, or come to a class to make one of these layouts and see how simple it is let me know!

Shopping List

Use some of your cards for quick card notes. In this example I have done some little notes to congratulate my nephews. The journal cards were perfect for the inside and ther cards work for the outside of the card.

Use some of your cards for quick card notes. In this example I have done some little notes to congratulate my nephews. The journal cards were perfect for the inside and ther cards work for the outside of the card.

Your next stop on our Everything ABC’S blog Hop is  Melissa Hegwood- Scrappin’s More Mom

In case you get lost along the way…go to Scrappy Therapy 

9 thoughts on “Everything ABC’s Blog hop – S is for SIMPLE!

  1. Pingback: Everything ABC’s Blog Hop (S) | My Scrapbooking Blog

  2. Pingback: Simple Stunning Picture My Life part 2! | Jen's Creative Classroom

Comments are closed.