Confetti Wishes Exploding Card with a cupcake!

A great big Happy Birthday to CTMH as we celebrate #30yearsofhappy stamping and enjoy the FREE stamp set with 30 mini stamps! This month I am also featuring all things Birthday at my Monthly crop and the best paper collection for this lind of celebration is Confetti Wishes.

Birthday Explosión box

Birthday Explosión box

I have created this exploding box card for display and inspiration at my upcoming workshop on September 21st. (If you are local be sure to book now!). This piece showcases what we can achieve with Confetti Wishes X7189B paper, the Artiste Cricut cartridge and our awesome Pink glitter paper Z1792!

If you have not tried the glitter paper out yet then I suggest you do. It doesn’t flake and cuts clean on the cricut with blade set to 6 and doing a double cut as I did for the title here. Slow it down for intricate designs, and lift carefully from your mat. If it is really a really sticky mat you will need the spatula.

1410505545045

 

There are a lot of tutorials on exploding box cards so I will not detail that here. For the cupcake I cut a cupcale holder from artiste at 4 inches. I guestimated the size I needed and it worked out just right. I stamped and embellished this before folding it with ‘Gliitter girl’ from Glitter Glam B1465 and the foliage from ‘Love This’.B1432. I sat a 3 inch styrofoam ball in the cupcake holder and covered that with double sided tape and removed the covering from the tape leaving sticky side ready for use.

Time to decorate the cup Cake!

Thoroughly wet 3 1/2inch pieces of Thistle card stock and scrunch each one up. Gently unfold these and lay them on the open double sided tape on the top of the Cup Cake. It won’t stick while it is wet – just position it , prod it, move it till you are happy with the look. (Dressmakers pins will hold it if need be) Here is the trick….Allow to dry overnight. By then it will be stuck and nice and firm again for you to play with.

1410505229588

Add a touch of Bonding Memories glue 1512 around the top of the cupcake rim and over the iced top. Sprinkle with glitter. (My messy mat  – All purpose Mat Z2045 helps make this job much easier to clean up!) Add something on top, some Bitty Sparkles Z1263 and you are done. I have adhered the cup cake to the card by stacking 4 layers of 3D foam tape Z1151 in the centre of the card so the stack reaches the bottom of the styrofoam ball. On the lid of the box I have used sponge daubers and more glitter to finish it off. 

Glitter Paper Tip

I have found the stickers are not staying put on the glitter paper. The answer to that problem is liquid glass.!!! Our answer to anything that needs to be Stuck! 3D Foam tape also works well on this surface. 

Shopping list – Note – this shoping list entitles you to add – Free #30yearsofhappy stamp and Stamp of the month Family is Forever! – That is and additional $48 worth of stamping fun for just $5!

You might also need these inks – Thistle, Canary and Pacifica.

Additional Supplies – available as 50% off host reward items

Thank you for stopping by. I would love to have some feed back in a comment before you go! I hope you are inspired by this project. If you are local to Mildura and would learn to make one of these in a class setting please let me know in your comment below. Don’t forget our workshop is coming up. Here is a sneak peek.

1410505656103

You can order all you need online right here. Be sure to join my September Virtual Gathering to be in the draw for the Host rewards. Happy Stamping Month! 

Jenny

jenny sig

