Everything ABC’s Blog Hop Letter J

abc bloghop Welcome to the Everything ABC’s Blog Hop! For this hop we will be featuring the letter J. This may be the name of a paper, a stamp set or an embellishment. Whatever the crafter has chosen as their # element will be featured in their post. If you have just hopped onto my blog, please start at the beginning at Linda Norman – Scrappy Therapy   If you came from Catherine Nowak ~ Catscrapbooking you are in the right place. 

Japanese Blossom Greeting Card

I have had this little stamp set for a while and have been wanting to make cards with it. According to my Japanese speaking daughter the Kanji on the stamp speaks of peace, hope and love. The English greeting ‘Live for today, Dream for Tomorrow’ id a lovely sentiment you can apply to a number of card occasions so in the design I have left room at the top for an elegant hello, congratulations or happy birthday. The focus in this post is on how I coloured the Japanese blossom stamp.

?????????????????????

Japanese Blossom A1155

 

I have coloured this with my Close To My Heart Water colour pencils. I have used Sorbet, Orange, Olive, Pink, Honey and some Autumn Terracotta.

pencils

I have stamped the image with Cocoa and Saddle Pigment inks. Allow these to dry well before working in the water colour. Pigment inks won’t run if you get them wet like our normal ink pads do. I inked the top right corners in the saddle and the left and bottom triangle in Cocoa. I have stamp onto colonial white card stock. This is not as stark as the white might have been.

Stamped images ready to colour.

Stamped images ready to colour.

Before we get to colouring the image here are some tips.

  • Always turn the work so you are comfortable with the direction of a stroke of the pencil or brush.
  • Follow the lines of the petals and leaves.
  • You do not need to colour the whole space – let the watercolour properties do this for you. Finally be sure to have paper towel handy so you do not get too much water on your work.

To make it easier to explain just how I did this I have made this video for you. Please excuse my um’s – I just talk you through it as I work!

Once I had coloured the blossom flower I mounted it on Cocoa, then sorbet cardstock. This is all put on a background from the Balloon Ride paper and supported by a strip of the apricot crackle paper in this collection. A couple of sparkles finish it off.

The following CTMH products are used in this project. All are available from my online store. Don’t forget to order you Free to Be Me Paper Pack and CStamp of the month, Just $5 each with orders over $75. 

Water Colour Pencils (Currently not in stock)

Colonial White cards and envelopes x1410

Balloon Ride Paper Packet x7180B

Basics Mini Pigment  Ink Pads Z2503

Japanese Blossom Stamp Set A1155

Sparkles Clear Assortment X1752

Your next stop on our Everything ABC’S blog Hop is Cary Magnani – My Heart’s Design In case you get lost along the way…go to Scrappy Therapy

4 thoughts on “Everything ABC’s Blog Hop Letter J

  1. Pingback: ABC’s Blog Hop ~ J

Comments are closed.