Mixed Media Scrapbook page

I have a fascination for mixed media pages. I have paining skills and an understanding of paints from when I was a folk artist. I have some skills with colour. I am learning about the properties of the products we have with Close To My Heart. Put all this together and I want to play. So I have, thanks to this tutorial by Fiona at Off the Rails Scrapbooking. I don’t have the exact same mediums, but I used what I had and I am happy to say I like what I achieved for a first go.

This is the finished page.

This is the finished page.

To complete this project I needed a photo, some gesso, some texturepaste,  a spatula or pallete knife and a brush. I have most of these in my studio from painting days. From Close To My Heart I have used paper, in, stamps, and Skylark Picture My Life Cards, WOTG kit scraps, Assortment and Complements.

To do this page I initially followed the tutorial by here. Once I was on a roll I ended up doing things how I wanted them. The idea is to have this colourful splashy messy background and clustered embellishments. I struggled to really layer things like the example but I am working with a different photo, different supplies, and I doubt very much if I was to repeat this it would be the same because of the methods used. Once you get past the first few steps you will make it your own, which is why this is so much fun.

Begin with a rehearsal! Yes that is right you need to put the photo, selected elements and papers down on the page and play around with them until you are ALMOST satisfied with what you have. I say almost because you can always change a plan, right?

Here is my rehearsal.

Rehearsal

You will notice this is nothing like my finished page – I changed my mind halfway through and added more papers and switched placement so the ‘weight’ of the design is on a full diagonal line. I also could not fit all the words in to my liking so some were left off.

Next prep the background. I saw a tutorial for painting with inks. If you do not have reinkers (I dont have sweet leaf for example) Squeeze your inkpad and it will leave ink in your lid. Add water. With your watery brush tinted with ink criss cross the background.

Then with a spray pen, filled with water and drops of Lagoon re-inker spray randomly. Both of these steps are random – any one doing this will end up with a different page from the next person.

Colour the background with rand brush and sprays

Colour the background with rand brush and sprays

Finally smear gesso in places where embellishments will go. For textures you can imprint the wet gesso with a stamp but my experience of this step was that none of this step is visible in the finished piece. I will try it again one day. I think it will work best if gesso is thick and background more vibrant or strong in colour. I also used a little water and reinker dropped on the page for it to run. Because I was using white cardstock it tended to soak up the moisture like a blotting paper or kitchen towel before I could get it to run down the page. Next time I will gesso the whole page first which will seal it and these effects may work much better.

decorate at random. I have used the stamp set that comes with Skylark WOTG here.

decorate at random. I have used the stamp set that comes with Skylark WOTG here.

You can now add background stamping where you think it will be needed. The above come from the Skylark WOTG stamp set.

Now it is time to add texture. I used Texture paste, a toungue depresser and a stencil I made using my Artbooking cricut cartridge. You can use a pallette knife if you have one.

What you need for the next step

What you need for the next step

The tutorial ies an ink I do not have so this next bit proved tricky. The only way to understand how mediums work is to play. I tried Slate reinker – it turns pink. I then went with archival black ink and that was much better. To spatter it I loaded a brush and tapped it and got some nice splatter on the page, and on me and my glasses! I them loaded the brush a lot and pressed big dollops of my water/reinker mix and let ti run. Awesome.

Finally got some dribbles to happen. I guess this is the most hit and miss and you just have to go with the flow.

Finally got some dribbles to happen. I guess this is the most hit and miss and you just have to go with the flow.

It was time to let this dry so I now prepared the embellishments. I sanded, edged, daubed and accented.

embelishments

Now I was ready to put it all together. I brushed Gesso on the resin flowers to help them pop off the page. I also masked the printed washi tape on one of the embellishments so I could ink the edge of the sentiment section giving it more dimension.

gesso the resin pieces

gesso the resin pieces

Mask with washi tape for daubing

Mask with washi tape for daubing

 

Sand Chipboard edges where they were joined in the carrier sheet

Sand Chipboard edges where they were joined in the carrier sheet

Colour the twist ties by daubing with colour on a scrap of paper

Colour the twist ties by daubing with colour on a scrap of paper

 

I have used a mixture of double sided tape, and foam tape so there are varying levels of elements. Here is another look at the finished page. A full supply list is below. If you are local to me (Sunraysia area)  and would like to be taught these techniques in a class please use the form below to contact me for class details.

This is the finished page.

This is the finished page.

The following Close To My Heart Products are used in this project. You can shop for these products online right now here or take the links below to each product.

Cardstock – White, sweet leaf and Lagoon

Exclusive Inks sweet leaf pad, (would also use reinker if I had it) , lagoon pad and reinker, slate pad and reinker and archival black reinker Desert sand

Embellishments from Skykark Picture My Life Cards, Skylark complements, Skylark Assortment, Skylark WOTG Stamp Set

Lagoon Houndstooth Washi Tape

Liquid Glass (Used on the complement buttons)

Daubers

3D Foam Tape

Artbooking Cricut Cartridge

I hope this project has inspire you to go beyond the boundaries with the mediums you have in your stash!

Have fun and remember playing is good for the soul and the stress levels! I would love your comments – please skip further below the contact form to submit your feedback.

Jen

