Releasing the inner child with You Are My Happy!

I believe that we can all recall days of being totally absorbed by our colouring in days. Do You? How long has it been since you sat in front of a set of markers, a black outline and coloured in? Did you realise it could be totally relaxing?? I categorically believe it is not only relaxing but also very therapeutic. I am about to show you what I achieved on one of the most relaxing Saturday afternoons I have had for some time. 

So, let’s get started. First of all I have received my National Stamping Month Stamp Set. This cute set of 3 sheets valued at $64 is yours for just $15 with every $75 spent on scrapping, stamping and paper supplies with Close To My Heart throughout National Stamping Month right now! (You have Two weeks left!)  You Are My Happy has a really cute lettering set including upper and lower cases and numbers. Perfect!  There are some gorgeous sayings and titles on one of the sheets and all of this is complemented by a superb range of motifs that can be used for pretty much any occasion. I have played with the sun, the gift box, one of the flowers and my favourite one, the butterfly so far. 

See for yourself just what is in this set.

You are my Happy National Stamping Month set - Just $15 with every $75 spent in Australia. Visit my online store to get yours today!

You are my Happy National Stamping Month set – Just $15 with every $75 spent in Australia. Visit my online store to get yours today!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I didn’t quite know where to start but had a request for a birthday card, I combined the gift and used the lettering along with stamps from Washi Wonder, (an exclusive set for gathering hosts) to come up with this piece. I do not think it is my most awesome piece of artwork but I think a 9 year old will appreciate it! I love sets like Washi Wonder because i can just sit and stamp all sorts of pieces and colours from my scrap box and set them aside for use on a card or page. This is fast, easy washi with no need for rolls and rolls of Washi tape. My Washi Wander makes the Washi tape look very portable too. 

Ok, the card was done and it is time to play. I decided to let my inner child loose on colouring in. I have a small palette of CTMH Alcohol Markers. These are FABULOUS! I truly did feel like a child pulling them out today and using the brush tip of a variety of colours. I stamped and coloured the butterfly stamp several different ways. It was relaxing, none of the woes of life interfered. The hardest decision was what colour to try next! 

Colouring in - so child like, so relaxing!

Colouring in – so child like, so relaxing!

I needed flowers to go with the butterflies so I cut the coordinating flower with the Art Philosophy Cricut cartridge. I did a whole sheet! I stamped about a dozen these in black ink ready to colour. I became an expert in positioning the clear stamp over the precut image, lining it up nicely. (Yes I misjudged a few times too!) The trick was to sit right up over the block to line it up on the cutout. because i was working with white card, the black background of the Versamat made this step very easy. 

I decided, since my range of inks is still small, to use pigment inks applied with sponge daubers to add colour – and then finished off the details with Alcohol Markers. I added Liquid Glass to the butterfly wings, dug through my scraps and stamps to make titles and find colourful mounting pieces, opened my Hollyhock Zipper lace embellishment and I finished up with a design I am quite pleased with.  To add foliage I used the little leaf spray from the Chantilly WOTG kit. To ensure the butterflies still had feelers, I stamped a plain outline to the card before mounting the butterfly body with 3D foam tape

Flowers, butterflies. lace and sentiment. A group of cards that came together quickly after the colouring was done.

Flowers, butterflies. lace and sentiment. A group of cards that came together quickly after the colouring was done.

I now have quite a number of cards ready to give my gathering hosts, friends and family, made with the heart of my inner child. I have been totally absorbed in colouring in and loved it. If you would like to give it a try get your pens and stamps out and give it a go. If you do not yet have supplies, take the links to the products and shop for your ‘You Are My Happy’ stamp set. You can even be the recipient of one of my cards by being the host of a gathering. You do not need to live near me – just live in Australia. We can use the magic of the internet to manage your gathering and get you your host rewards including the Washi Wonder stamp set! 

 

Nurture your inner child, She wants to play! Grab your stuff and do some colouring – it is very therapeutic because you tune the world out and finish up with hand made heart felt gifts to give to others!

Go On…

I dare you! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

